Friday, September 18, 2020
Home > POLITICS > APC Govs Meet Buhari, Postpone NEC Meeting

APC Govs Meet Buhari, Postpone NEC Meeting


By Mathew Dadiya, ABuja

The ruling -All Progressives Congress (APC), Monday announced the indefinite postponement of its National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting earlier scheduled for Tuesday, March 17, 2020 to address the leadership crisis bedevilling it.

The postponement was announced shortly after President Muhammadu Buhari held a closed door meeting with Progressive Governors Forum (PGF), which lasted about 15 minutes at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

The Chairman of PGF and Governor of Kebbi State, Atiku Bagudu, told State House correspondents after the meeting, that the governors had sought the President’s support to postpone the NEC meeting.
According to him, Mr President Buhari was pleased to endorse the suggestion to postpone the NEC indefinitely.
He said, ”We met with Mr. President, amongst other issues we discussed about the party and our appreciation to Mr.
President how he has given access to each of us individually and collectively.
“And amongst the issues we discussed was the need with the resolution that the governors have taken to work together to resolve all the issues in the party.
“And also we seek Mr. President support to postpone the National Executive Council NEC meeting that is schedule for tomorrow (today) until such a time that  the governors are ready to report back.”
Asked whether the President accepted the request for the postponement, he said,” Yes, he is so happy that we all agreed to that.
The suspension of the meeting might not be unconnected with President Buhari’s instant that Oshimhole be allowed to complete his tenure.
Those at the meeting were Dapo Abiodun, (Ogun), Gboyega Oyetola (Osun), Godwin Obaseki, (Edo), Atiku Bagudu, (Kebbi), Muhammadu Inuwa Yahaya, (Gombe), Babagana Zullum (Borno), Abubakar Sani Bello (Niger), and Simon Lalong (Plateau).
Others were Babatide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos), Aminu Masari (Katsina), Hope Uzodinma (Imo). Rotimi Akeredolu (Ondo), Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano) and Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State.
Four governors who did not attend the meeting included: Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti, Nasir el-Rufai of Kaduna, Yahaya Bello of Kogi, and Mai Mala Buni of Yobe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: