Thursday, August 6, 2020
Home > COVER > CBN Gov, Minister of Power Confirm Attendance at DAILY ASSET Awards

CBN Gov, Minister of Power Confirm Attendance at DAILY ASSET Awards

Daily Asset Online Newspaper

By Orkula Shaagee & Armstrong Tseaa, Abuja

The Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Mr Godwin Emefiele has confirmed his attendance at the 2019 edition of the annual DAILY ASSET Newspaper Awards ceremony slated for February 21 at the Nicon Luxury Hotel in Abuja on February 21.

Emefiele will receive the DAILY ASSET Man of the Year Award in recognition of his outstanding contributions in the management of the nation’s economy.

Also in line for the award is the Minister of Power, Engineer Sale Mamman, who will receive that award of Minister of the Year at the event in recognition of the giant strides he has taken to tackle the many challenges in the power sector and reposition it for better performance.

In a letter to DAILY ASSET Newspaper Publisher, Dr. Cletus Akwaya, dated February 10, the CBN confirmed he would attend the Grand annual event, the third by the fast growing national newspaper.

In an interview last night Dr Akwaya explained that the event was designed to recognise and appreciate Nigerian leaders, organisations and institutions that excelled in their chosen careers, endeavours and public service positions in the period under review.

Other award recipients including Lt Gen. Tukur Yusuf Buratai, Chief of Army Staff had earlier confirmed their participation at the occasion, which will be attended by Captains of industry, top government functionaries and other distinguished Nigerians.

Mamman, the Minister off Power, who hails from Taraba State was born on January 2, 1958 and holds a Higher National Diploma (HND) in Electrical Electronics from Kaduna Polytechnic in Kaduna State in 1988 and an MBA from Bayero University, Kano in 2015.

He started his career as a teacher in Technical School Mubi, Adamawa State in 1981 and transferred his service to the newly created Taraba state in 1992. He rose to the rank of Assistant Director in the ministry of works in the state before retiring in 2002, to become a full-time businessman and politician.

Meanwhile, Chief of Army Staff, Lt. General Tukur Buratai, Outgoing Governor of Bayelsa State, His Excellence Henry Seriake Dickson and former Governor of Benue State Senator Gabriel Suswam are among the dignitaries that have confirmed their attendance at the 2019 edition of the annual DAILY ASSET Newspaper Awards ceremony.

While Suswam, who chairs the Senate Committee on Power, will chair the event, Governor Dickson, who was the chairman at the launch of DAILY ASSET Newspaper in 2017, will be Guest Speaker at the occasion.

Governor Dickson, who also won DAILY ASSET Newspapers ‘Man of The Year Award’ in 2019, will be speak on the topic: ‘Elections, Good Governance and Democracy in Nigeria’.

The nominees for the 14 categories of the awards were announced on December 23, 2019 by the Editorial Board of DAILY ASSET, after a rigorous assessment of the set criteria.

Those to receive awards at the occasion include Senate President Senator Ahmed Lawan, Chief of Army Staff Lt Gen. Tukur Buratai and Central Bank of Nigeria Governor, Dr. Godwin Emefiele as Man of The Year.

Others are Zamfara State Governor Alhaji Bello Matawalle, Katsina State Governor Alhaji Bello Masari, Enugu State Governor Chief Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi and Kano State Governor Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje as Governor of the Year.

There are also MD/CEO of Access Bank, Mr. Herbert Wigwe as Banker of The Year; Senator Enyinaya Abaribe as Legislator of the Year, Senator Tanko Al-Makura as Politician of the Year; Engr Saleh Mamman, Minister of the Year and Hon. Francis Otta Agbo as Young Person of the Year.

Others are the Chairman of Air Peace, Chief Allen Ifechukwu Onyema as the CEO of The Year; President Muhammadu Buhari’s Spokesman Garba Shehu and Arch Sunday Echono as Civil Servant of the Year; Daar Communication and AITEO Group as Company of The Year; as well as Babcock University, Bingham University and Rhema University as University of The Year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: