Home / POLITICS / In Spite Siege, Saraki In Senate, Presides Over Defection of 15 APC Senators
Senate President Bukola Saraki

In Spite Siege, Saraki In Senate, Presides Over Defection of 15 APC Senators


By David Odama

Senate President, Bukola Saraki, on Tuesday, beat a security siege to his residence to preside over the days plenary at the National Assembly.

Saraki arrived the Senate Chamber at exactly 10:40am, and took the prayer to begin the days legislative business.

Fifteen senators of the All Progressives Congress (APC) defected from their party to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The senators made their intention known in a joint letter to the Senate President.

The letter reads: “Dear Senate President, after due consultation, with our constituents and stakeholders in our constituency, in proper recognition section 16 (1G) of the 1999 constitution, and for the fact of our party, The All Progressives Congress, we hereby inform the Senate that we the undersigned;


  1. Dino Melaye
  2. Barnabas Gemade
  3. Ibrahim Danbaba
  4. Shaaba Lafiaji

. Mohammed Shitu

  1. Rafiu Ibrahim
  2. Suleiman Hunkuyi
  3. Isa Misau
  4. Monsurat Sunmonu
  5. Soji Akanbi
  6. Usman Nafada
  7. Musa Kwankwaso
  8. Suleiman Nazif
  9. Lanre Tejuosho

We hereby inform you that we are changing our political affiliation from APC to PDP. We thank you for your exemplary leadership.”

After the letter was read, Saraki announced that Senator, Abdulazaz Nyako, had also announced his defection.

About Editor_01

Check Also

FCT Polls: SDP Candidate Confident of Winning Gwagwalada Council

By Bishop Oyoyo, Abuja The Chairmanship candidate of Gwagwalada area council of the Federal Capital …

Onnoghen: PDP Sympathetic To Corruption – APC

By Gabriel Atumeyi The All Progressives Congress (APC) has accused the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: