Home / JUDICIARY / President Buhari Approves New High, Appeal Court Justices

President Buhari Approves New High, Appeal Court Justices

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved new justices for Nigeria’s federal courts.

The National Judicial Council which announced the development in a statement by its Director of Information, Soji Oye, on Wednesday, said the Court of Appeal got 12 justices with nine judges for the Federal High Court and seven for the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.

“President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, has approved the appointment of 29 judicial officers for the Court of Appeal, Federal High Court and the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory on the recommendation of the National Judicial Council,” the statement said.

The 12 justices elevated from the High Court to the Court of Appeal to include Justice P. A. Mahmoud, Justice F. O. Ojo, Justice Ebiowei Tobi, Justice Mohammed Idris, Justice Gabriel Kolawole, Justice Bilikisu Aliyu, Justice J. G. Abundaga, Justice A. S. Umar, Justice I. A. Andenyangsto, Justice A. M. Bayero, Justice A. M. Lamido and Justice Abubakar Talba.

The nine justices appointed for the Federal High Court are Sunday Bassey Onu, Mrs. Adefunmilola Adekemi Demi-Ajayi, Peter O. Lifu, Obiora Atuegwu Egwuata, Mrs. Sa’adatu Ibrahim Mark, Mobolaji Olubukola Olajuwon, Aminu Bappa Aliyu, Tijjani Garba Ringim and Nkeonye Evelyn Maha.

Justices for the FCT High Court are Binta Mohammed, Modupe Osho-Adebiyi, Gaba Venchak Simon, Babangida Hassan, Akobi Iyabeni Anna, Samirah Umar Bature and Asmau Akanbi Yusuf.

THEWILL recalls that the NJC had last year sent the nominees to President Buhari for confirmation and approval.

“The Justices of the Court of Appeal will be sworn in by the Hon. Chief Justice of Nigeria and Chairman, National Judicial Council, Hon. (Mr.) Justice W. S. N. Onnoghen, GCON, on Friday 22nd June, 2018, by 10.00am.

“Those appointed for the Federal High Court will be sworn-in on Monday 25th June, 2018, at 2.00pm, and judges appointed for the High Court of the FCT are to be sworn in on Tuesday, 26th June, 2018, by 2.00pm at the main hall of the courtroom of the Supreme Court of Nigeria,” the NJC statement added.

About Editor_01

Check Also

Negligence: Court Dissolves 23-year-old Marriage

An Idi-Ogungun Customary Court in Ibadan, on Wednesday, granted the prayer of a trader, Opeyemi …

Alleged N2.5bn Fraud: Court Shifts Arraignment of NBC Boss to May 2

The Federal High Court, Abuja on Wednesday, fixed May 2, for arraignment of Mallam Moddibo …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: